Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Community Awards

Main content start

Congratulations to our faculty, staff, students, and postdocs who have won awards for their research, teaching, and scholarship. 

2023-24 academic year

Jenna ForsythTIME100 Health, 2024School of Medicine
Hae Young Noh2024 Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research PrizeCivil and Environmental Engineering
Sarah FletcherNSF CAREER AwardCivil and Environmental Engineering
Ching-Yao Lai2024 Sloan Research FellowGeophysics
Howard Allan ZebkerElected to the National Academy of EngineeringElectrical Engineering, Geophysics
Alexandria BoehmElected to the National Academy of EngineeringCivil and Environmental Engineering, Oceans
Rodolfo DirzoFrontiers of Knowledge Award in Ecology and Conservation Biology, BBVA FoundationEarth System Science, Biology
Anne KiremidjianDoctor Technices Honoris Causa (honorary doctorate) from Aarhus UniversityCivil and Environmental Engineering
Mark JacobsonWorthy 100, 2023Civil and Environmental Engineering
Margariete Malenda1st place, Outstanding Paper Competition at the Geothermal Rising ConferenceGeophysics
Aditi Sheshadri2023 Google Research Scholar Program recipient, Applied Science categoryGeophysics
Ching-Yao Lai2023 Google Research Scholar Program recipient, Geo categoryEarth System Science
Dustin Schroeder2023 Bass University Fellow in Undergraduate EducationGeophysics, Electrical Engineering
Jenna Davis2023 Bass University Fellow in Undergraduate EducationCivil and Environmental Engineering
Lupe CarrilloHonoree of Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access in a Learning Environment (IDEAL) Honor RollOffice of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Erik SperlingCharles Schuchert AwardEarth and Planetary Sciences
Rosemary KnightAGU Ambassador AwardGeophysics
Yuan WangAGU James B. Macelwane MedalEarth System Science
Rodney Ewing2023 William B. Heroy Jr. Award for Distinguished ServiceEarth and Planetary Sciences
Yuan WangHenry G. Houghton AwardEarth System Science

2022-23 academic year

Dick Luthy2023 Perry L. McCarty Founders AwardCivil & Environmental Engineering
Simona OnoriClass of 2022 SAE FellowEnergy Science & Engineering
Gretchen DailyEminent Ecologist AwardNatural Capital Project (NatCap), H&S
Jorge RamosEugene P. Odum Award for Excellence in Ecology EducationJasper Ridge Biological Preserve, H&S
Greg DeierleinHonorary Member of the Earthquake Engineering Research InstituteCivil & Environmental Engineering
Anat AdmatiJeakicke Faculty AwardEnvironmental Behavioral Sciences, Graduate School of Business
Anat AdmatiWilbur Cross medalEnvironmental Behavioral Sciences, Graduate School of Business
Patricia BromleyAcademy of Management Annals "Decade Award"Environmental Behavioral Sciences, Education
Jon KrosnickMalinda S. Mitchell Award for ServiceEnvironmental Behavioral Sciences, Communication, Political Science
Anne DekasNSF CAREER AwardEarth System Science, Oceans
Barbara SimpsonNSF CAREER AwardCivil & Environmental Engineering
Erik SperlingNSF CAREER AwardGeological Sciences
Jenny SuckaleNSF CAREER AwardGeophysics
Jack BakerNamed editor of Earthquake SpectraCivil & Environmental Engineering
Jack BakerWilliam B. Joyner Lecture AwardCivil & Environmental Engineering
Anne Kiremidjian2023 Thomas Egleston MedalCivil & Environmental Engineering
Rosemary KnightEngineering News-Record 2022 Top 25 newsmakersGeophysics, Earth System Science
Rosamund NaylorAAAS FellowGlobal Environmental Policy
Tony KovscekElected to the National Academy of EngineeringEnergy Science and Engineering
Anirudh AllamEEE Transactions on Control Systems Technology Outstanding Paper AwardPhD and Postdoc in the lab of Simona Onori, Energy Science and Engineering
Alexandra Konings2023 Sloan Research FellowEarth System Science
Kyle PietrzykLawrence fellowshipEnergy Science and Engineering
Emily SnellGoldwater ScholarshipEarth and Planetary Sciences
Shiran Victoria ShenInternational Public Policy Association Early Career Research AwardCivil & Environmental Engineering
Alicia SeigerBusiness Insider as one of 10 global climate leadersPrecourt Institute for Energy
Juliet Nwagwu Ume-EzeokePaul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New AmericansCivil & Environmental Engineering
Howard Zebker IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society's Fawwaz Ulaby Distinguished Achievement AwardGeophysics

If you don't see an award listed here please reach out to

Excellence in DEI Award

Table with decorations and gifts

The Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability Excellence in DEI Award is presented to recognize individuals who regularly go above and beyond what is expected to create a more inclusive, just, and welcoming community at Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.

Submit your nomination & see last years recipient