Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Meet the DEI team

Main content start

Meet the people who are making this work a priority for Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability.

Meet our DEI office

Student & postdoc DEI liaisons

A program to support leader students and postdoctoral researchers to expand DEI opportunities in their departments/programs. 

Meet our DEI Liaisons

Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability Excellence in DEI Award

If you work, advise, or study with someone who regularly go above and beyond what is expected to create a more inclusive, just, and welcoming community, you can nominate them for an Excellence in DEI award!

Learn more about eligibility and nomination criteria

DEI councils

The DEI councils are established as a platform for advocacy and partnership-building to address and strengthen Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the school community.

The Councils consist of two related entities – the Advisory and the Governance Council, each one fulfilling different functions and yet overlapping to collaboratively direct the School towards its DEI goals. The overarching roles of the Councils are to (1) provide a voice to the members of our community at the grassroots; (2) act as change agents for and within the School and (3) help institutionalize practices that support and accelerate DEI initiatives.

DEI Advisory Council members:

This council acts as an ear to the ground and has a finger on the community's pulse to: Identify inclusion needs, share resources with the broader community, suggest programming, and be a local advocate.  

  • Amy Balsom, Senior Associate Dean
  • Lupe Carrillo and Isabel Carrera Zamanillo, DEI office staff 
  • Alyssa Ferree, Assistant Dean for student services
  • Paula Welander, Jef Caers, Sonia Tikoo, Rodolfo Dirzo, Ines Azevedo, Page Chamberlain, Associate Chairs for Diversity and Inclusion (ACDI) faculty
  • Pedro Monarrez, Postdoc DEI liaison
  • Alexis Wilson and Bianca Santos, DEI student liaisons
  • Amina Ly, Student DEI leader representative
  • Lijing Wang, Student DEI leader representative
  • Matthew Lees, Student DEI leader representative
  • Fola Ayoola, Student DEI leader representative
  • Jonelle Whiting and Joanna Sun, Student services officer staff representatives
  • Mynor Aragon (Development) and Kassie Sharp (Web), Staff DEI representatives
  • Sibyl Diver, Earth Systems program DEI council liaison
  • Bhe Balde, Change Leadership for Sustainability Program liaison
  • Alumni: TBD 

DEI Governance Council members:

This council implements the mission and values of the DEI action plan and engages with the advisory council to: Track progress & metrics, allocate resources, determine awards, and uphold a respectful and inclusive behavior policy.

  • Tiziana Vanorio, Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs 
  • Lupe Carrillo and Isabel Carrera Zamanillo, DEI office staff 
  • Amy Balsom, Senior Associate Dean
  • Sue Crutcher, Associate Dean for Human Resources and Faculty Affairs
  • Alyssa Ferree, Assistant Dean for Student Services
  • Scott Fendorf, Senior Associate Dean for Integrative Initiatives
  • Jonathan Payne, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • Page Chamberlain, ACDI chair

Additional DEI leaders

Associate Chairs for Diversity and Inclusion (ACDI)

More faculty DEI leaders

  • Page Chamberlain, Professor of Geological Sciences
    ACDI chair, Stanford's principal investigator for the NSF Research University Alliance
  • Greg Beroza, Professor of Geophysics
    IDEAL faculty representative
  • Jerry Harris, Professor Emeritus Geophysics
    OMA founder, DEI champion